04 815 8015

102A Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu, 5032

Follow us on Social media
+64 (0)4 815 8015
Mon - Fri, 08:30AM-5:00PM

Battle-ready drivers to compete in NZ Formula Ford title decider this Sunday in Christchurch

Liam Sceats heads to the final round of the 2022 NAPA Auto Parts NZ Formula Ford Championship this Sunday in Christchurch in the best possible position. The Aucklander took maximum points from the first four races and holds a 35-point lead over Zac Christensen with third placed Alex Crosbie a further 28-points back. The Mike Pero Motorsport Park in Ruapuna hosts the final four races which will determine the 2022 ovearall national as well as both Class 1 (post 2000) and 2 (1990-1999) titles.

Sceats (Van Diemen Stealth) had the perfect opening championship round at the Taupo International Motorsport Park, Taupo, in late March. Having set fastest lap in qualifying, winning the $1,010 Hamptons Downs NZ Racing Academy cash prize, Sceats went on to win all four races to take a handy lead over rival Zac Christensen (Ray GR20), who finished second in each race, despite it being his first outing at the Taupo circuit.

However, Sceats heads to Christchurch with the disadvantage of having very few competitive laps on the South Island circuit, whereas it is Christensen’s home circuit while Southland’s Alex Crosbie (Ray GR21) has also turned plenty of laps.

Christensen is the newly crowned South Island Formula 1600 Championship title holder and will be hard to beat at his home circuit. Pressure will be on him to win all four races in order to maximise his title fight.

Throw into the mix both Cantabrian’s Jack Noble-Adams (Ray GR21) and Simon Hunter (Mygale SJ08A), plus a handily placed Crosbie looking for his first race win and we have a real fight over points and ultimately for the title.

While the title may be decided between Sceats and Christensen, behind these two there is still a battle for the final spot on the podium.

Currently in third on the points table, Crosbie is an emerging talent and has a handy 66-point lead over Noble-Adams. Throw into the mix Bree Morris, who has plenty of racing experience at Ruapuna, Leo Scott and Sebatian Manson, who have both been competitive in the North Island Formula Ford Series and Simon Hunter who, in his rookie season, has podiumed four times in seven Formula Ford races at Ruapuna.

The Morrie Smith Memorial Trophy will be awarded to the driver who wins the final race of the championship. The award is in memory of Morrie Smith, father of NZ motor racing legend Ken Smith, who as a Formula Ford ambassador, wants the category to know that this is a family category and his father Morrie, mum Dorothy were always there for Ken.

The Stephen Gillard Memorial Trophy will be awarded to the highest placed “Rookie” of the
Championship. Stephen Gillard was an instrumental figure in resurrecting both the North Island Formula Ford as well as the national championship and contributing his time and car to young aspiring formula ford racers.

Motorsport New Zealand is offering the overall winner an entry to the Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch in the UK.

A $1,010 Hampton Downs NZ Racing Academy cash prize is on offer for the fastest qualifier. This is part of the $60,000 prize pool from the Tony Quinn Foundation which includes funding for travel to Formula Ford events within New Zealand.

As part of the prize package for the overall winner of the NZ Formula Ford title, the driver has the opportunity to test a FT60 while the Class 2 winner has the opportunity for a TR86 test. Both compliments of TOYOTA GAZOO Racing New Zealand.

Three 10-lap and one 12-lap race will make up the final round of the 2022 NAPA Auto Parts NZ Formula Ford Championship held in conjunction with the Canterbury Car Club Mag & Turbo Race Series at the Mike Pero Motorsport Park in Christchurch 1 May 2022.

All racing will be livestreamed with links to be found through the NZ Formula Ford, North Island Formula Ford and South Island Formula Facebook pages.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.