04 815 8015

102A Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu, 5032

Follow us on Social media
+64 (0)4 815 8015
Mon - Fri, 08:30AM-5:00PM

About MotorSport New Zealand

MotorSport New Zealand is a not-for-profit National Sporting Organisation appointed by the FIA as the sole authority to regulate motorsport in New Zealand.

MotorSport New Zealand Inc was initially inaugurated in October 1947 as the Association of New Zealand Car Clubs. Incorporation was achieved in November 1950 and in 1967 with a membership of 58 clubs the name was changed to Motorsport Association of New Zealand Inc.

In 1996, the name was changed to its present title. Membership of the organisation has continued to expand since with now over 90 member clubs holding membership.


In 2021, MotorSport New Zealand published their latest Strategic Plan to guide the organisation through to 2023. This plan was developed by management and the board with input from member clubs.


The Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) is the governing body for world motor sport and the federation of the world’s leading motoring organisations. Founded in 1904, with headquarters in Paris, the FIA is a non-profit making association. It brings together 245 national motoring and sporting organisations from 143 countries on five continents. Its member clubs represent millions of motorists and their families.

MotorSport New Zealand has been a member of the FIA since 1956. Initially, membership was through the RAC who were the controlling body for motorsport in the British Commonwealth, and direct membership followed on the dismantling of the British Commonwealth in the early 1970s.

MotorSport New Zealand is the sole authority appointed by the FIA to regulate motorsport in New Zealand.

MotorSport New Zealand delegates authority for karting, drag racing and vintage car events to recognised bodies by a process of annually reviewed agreements. These delegations of authority are subject to approval by the FIA, and the activities are conducted under conditions, which must be approved by MotorSport New Zealand and notified to the FIA.


NamePeriod Served
Pat M. Hoare1947 – 1950
Percy L. Lupp1950 – 1952
Hugo Hollis1952 – 1953
Godfrey P. Paape1953 – 1955
Percy L. Lupp1955 – 1958
Ron W.A Frost MBE1958 – 1977
Morrie D. Chandler ONZM1977 – 1998
Steven Kennedy1998 – 2010
Shayne F. Harris2010 – 2016
Wayne J. Christie2016 – Current