04 815 8015

102A Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu, 5032

Follow us on Social media
+64 (0)4 815 8015
Mon - Fri, 08:30AM-5:00PM

MotorSport New Zealand Board

The Board of MotorSport New Zealand Inc is comprised of four members elected by its member clubs and a further two positions appointed by the elected members.

The Board governs the organisation with support from its various Advisory Commissions and Departments and empowers a team of dedicated staff to deliver the day-to-day operations of the sport.


If you have anything that you would like to see raised at one of the Scheduled Board meetings for 2023: please forward your suggestions to: elton@motorsport.org.nz

Board Meeting Dates:

26 May 2024

14 July 2024

21 September 2024

7 December 2024


Deborah Day | President

Deborah was elected as the President of Motorsport New Zealand in 2024. After serving three full terms on the Board previously, Deb has a strong and intrinsic knowledge of the organisation and its functions. She is an active volunteer official who has officiated at the highest level of the sport and has been at the coal face of organising and developing volunteer groups in motorsport. Deb is also a strong supporter of motorsport talent, acting as a mentor to multiple aspiring young drivers. 

Scott O’Donnell | Board Member

Scott joined the MotorSport New Zealand Board in 2016 as an elected member and is a proud Southlander with motorsport in the blood. Scott is a driving force within the Southland community where he has extensive commercial property knowledge and has led the development of the Invercargill City Centre recently. Competing since the mid-90s, Scott has successfully competed in the New Zealand Porsche GT3 Cup along with many endurance events both in NZ and overseas such as the Bathurst 12 and 24 hour and the Nurburgring and Silverstone 24 hour events. Scott has a soft spot for the 2L Super Touring era and has an extensive collection of historic touring cars which he regularly competes in. Scott currently sits on the Historic Advisory Commission as the Board Liaison.

Mark Mallard | Board Member

Mark joined the MotorSport New Zealand Board in 2022 as an elected member and comes from a proud motorsport family, a passion he has shared ever since he could walk. He has done almost every role at a motorsport event from flag marshal to timing, safety car driver to grid marshal. In the early 2010’s Mark started the very successful 2kCup Series and began competing in a multitude of classes over the years, with his most recent being the 2021/22 Toyota 86 Championship. Mark is also the owner of a successful insurance brokerage and brings a wide range of skills to Board. Mark currently sits on the Rally Advisory Commission as the Board Liaison.

Daniel Gaunt | Board Member

Dan joined the MotorSport New Zealand Board in 2023 as an elected member and brings a wealth of motorsport and business knowledge to his role. Dan is the Director at of Game Over’s entertainment venues in both Auckland and Christchurch, as well as the Chief Driving Instructor at the Hampton Downs NZ Racing Academy. Having forged a career as a profession driver since the early 2000s, Dan has a intimate knowledge of motorsport and how to nurture talent. He is a 2x NZGP winner, 2x TRS champion & 1x Porsche GT3 Cup champ. He has also had much success overseas, particularly in Australia where had raced in Supercars and Asia in the endurance space. In his spare time, you might be able to find Dan racing golf carts around the golf course!

James Dicey | Appointed Board Member

James joined the MotorSport New Zealand Board in 2020 as an appointed member and brings a wealth of knowledge both as a chartered account in NZ, the UK and Amsterdam and in governance, having previously sat on a number of other Boards including the NZ Wine Growers Association. James now runs a successful winery in Central Otago producing grapes for his own label along with consulting for other wine makes. He has also brought a great level of knowledge about Health and Safety to the Board. James has been a strong supporter of Formula Ford and has been competing regularly in the South Island Formula Ford Series since 2013. James currently sits on the Race Advisory Commission as the Board Liaison.

Ron Mackersy | Appointed Board Member

Ron joined the MotorSport New Zealand Board in 2022 as an appointed member and brings a wealth of knowledge in governance having previously sat on a number of other Boards including Bike NZ and NZ Masters Games. A lawyer by profession, Ron brings decades of legal, commercial and property syndication knowledge to the Board. Ron is also an avid motorsport man and has been involved both as a driver and competitor in both races and rallies over the years.