04 815 8015

102A Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu, 5032

Follow us on Social media
+64 (0)4 815 8015
Mon - Fri, 08:30AM-5:00PM

2023 Media Awards information

Entries for the 2023 MotorSport New Zealand Media Awards are now open to any journalist, photographer, producer, director and PR or digital media professional representing a media outlet that meets our criteria and has covered a motorsport event in the past 12 months.

The overarching goal of the MotorSport New Zealand media awards is to promote and recognise the coverage of New Zealand motorsport in the media, primarily the mainstream media. We thank you for your efforts to provide the words, images, and audio/visual content of New Zealand motorsport via the many outlets which cover the sport.

This year we will be accepting Social Media pages/channels as a media outlet, provided that the page/channel has over 5000 followers or the content received over 1500 views.

The eligibility period is for work produced between 1 May 2022 – 31 March 2023.

Please note, you DO NOT have to be accredited with MotorSport New Zealand to enter – anyone whose work meets the criteria is eligible.

Here are the award categories for 2023:

 Photo Awards:

There are two awards for photographers, comprising of the Photographer of the Year Award and the President’s Award for a single shot. Both awards will be judged by world-renowned motorsport photographer, Drew Gibson

ENTER NOW:https://zfrmz.com/scrhVzxZGkNjLmYvIW5o

Journalist/Reporter of the Year:

The MotorSport Journalist/Reporter of the Year Award is open to all journalists and reporters from any media outlet such as news websites, newspapers, television, large social media channels, etc.

The award recognises journalistic content (Both news and feature) about any event, competition licence holder (past or present) or aspect of motorsport under the jurisdiction of MotorSport New Zealand. A ‘journalistic piece’ is defined as less than 3500 words for written, or less than 5 minutes for video or audio.

ENTER NOW:https://zfrmz.com/rS5j3uzs4f4BtK9mMGKA

Producer/Director of the Year:

The Producer/Director of the Year Award is open to all producers and directors from any media outlet that meets our criteria (see below).

The award recognises audio or video content about any motorsport event, competition licence holder (past or present) or aspect of motorsport under the jurisdiction of MotorSport New Zealand.

ENTER NOW:https://zfrmz.com/xpnxpZPUIdyCJdfliHgu

Best use of Digital Media/PR award:

This is an evolution of the PR Communicator of the year award and is for PR/Media professionals representing a competition licence holder, event or series under the jurisdiction of MotorSport New Zealand.

The award recognises the contribution of Digital Media/PR professionals in gaining media coverage for motorsport in New Zealand.

This year we will be accepting social media campaigns as part of this award.

ENTER NOW:https://zfrmz.com/1fiZ5krtFWTzlh2dcz8I

Entries must be submitted online using the links above. Please note some entries require you to upload your entries to a file-sharing website, if you do not have access to one, please let me know and I will help you out. MotorSport New Zealand also reserves the right to submit entries on behalf of an entrant if they feel they should be considered for an award.

Key dates:

  • Entries open: 23 February
  • Entries close: 12 April
  • Judging: mid-late April
  • Finalists advised by: 28 April
  • MotorSport New Zealand Awards evening, Te Papa, Wellington – 20 May

If you have any questions please contact jordie@motorsport.org.nz