04 815 8015

102A Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu, 5032

Follow us on Social media
+64 (0)4 815 8015
Mon - Fri, 08:30AM-5:00PM

Penrose carries on winning in South Island F1600 Series at Timaru

James Penrose won all three races at the second round of the 2020/21 South Island Formula 1600 Series held at the Timaru International Raceway on Saturday. The Cantabrian remains undefeated after six races, taking a commanding 100-point lead over last season’s winner Jack Noble Adams (Van Diemen Stealth).

“I couldn’t be happier,” said Penrose (Van Diemen RF93). “The car was great and fast all day.”

Second in all three races was Zac Christensen (Ray GR20). Now in his second F1600 season and with a new car, Christensen continues to gain momentum.

“It’s been a good day,” commented Christensen. “Although I’m still getting used to the new car. We are getting to where we want to be, learning and improving, and had some good battles today.”

Penrose carried on from the opening round last weekend in Christchurch, again setting fastest lap and leading from lights to flag in all three races.

“It was similar to Ruapuna (Christchurch),” said Penrose. “It was a matter of getting a good and clean start, creating a gap on the field and staying away out on my own.”

Twenty-five cars took to the track for the one-day South Canterbury Car Club meeting with all drivers’ completing the first two races. A tangle early on in race three saw a safety car intervention with Graham Dickie (Lola 344E), Roger McKenzie (Begg FM3) and Dave Arrowsmith (Van Diemen RF88) retiring from the race.

Within the category drivers are also competing in three separate classes. Christensen won Class 1 (post 2000) from Steve Donaldson (Ray GR20) and Kim Crocker Ray GR14).

Penrose won Class 2 (1990-1999) from Ethan Anderson (Van Diemen RF93) and Jack Noble-Adams (Van Diemen Stealth).

Invercargill’s Noel Atley won Class 3 (pre-1990) from rookie drivers Harry Wilson (#47 Van Diemen RF88) and Hayden Cox (Elden Mk8).

After two consecutive weekends’ racing, drivers and teams take a four-week break before the third round takes place 5-6 December at Teretonga Park in Invercargill.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.