04 815 8015

102A Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu, 5032

Follow us on Social media
+64 (0)4 815 8015
Mon - Fri, 08:30AM-5:00PM

Lawson F1 points and van Gisbergen NASCAR victory up for favourite sporting moment

Two motorsport achievements from 2023 will go to the vote for the title of “New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment” at the annual Halberg Awards.

Liam Lawson’s first career points finish in Formula 1 at the Singapore Grand Prix and Shane van Gisbergen’s NASCAR win on debut will go up against eight other Kiwi sporting moments from cricket, rugby union, rugby league, boxing, football and more in the annual category voted on by the New Zealand public.

Lawson became just the sixth New Zealander in history to score points in Formula 1 when he finished an impressive ninth place at the Singapore Grand Prix in 2023. Even more impressive was the fact it was only Lawson’s third-ever Formula 1 Grand Prix having subbed in mid-season for an injured Daniel Riccardo. It also made Lawson the highest points-scoring driver at the time for the Alpha Tauri team.

Van Gisbergen became the first driver in 60 years to win on debut in NASCAR when he won at the Chicago Street Course. The history-making day put Van Gisbergen as the first New Zealander to ever win a race in NASCAR’s top-level “Cup Series” and just the sixth driver born outside of the US to win a Cup Series race.

“Both Liam and Shane’s moments are incredible, history-making achievements that were some of the biggest headlines in New Zealand sport in 2023,” said MotorSport New Zealand CEO Elton Goonan.

“New Zealand is a nation that punches to far above its weight internationally and we know there is an enormous amount of support out there for our athletes.

“I call on all motorsport fans and sporting fans in New Zealand to cast their votes and get behind Liam and Shane in what were truly generational achievements.”

New Zealanders can vote once a day at www.halberg.co.nz/vote from now until 9.00pm on Wednesday 14 February 2024. The winner will be announced live at the Halberg Awards that evening.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.