04 815 8015

102A Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu, 5032

Follow us on Social media
+64 (0)4 815 8015
Mon - Fri, 08:30AM-5:00PM

Fogg, Paddon, Sceats and Hartley claim MotorSport New Zealand Premier Awards

MotorSport New Zealand’s premier awards have seen a high calibre of recipients recognised for 2024. The winners were announced at the annual MotorSport New Zealand Awards Evening in Christchurch on Saturday night.

Angus was awarded the Lupp Trophy for his efforts in raising the profile of historic touring car racing. The Lupp Trophy is awarded to recognise a competitor from Classic and Historic racing who has demonstrated exceptional levels of sportsmanship, vehicle presentation and who embodies the very spirit and values associated with the Classic and Historic movement.

The Steel Memorial Trophy, awarded to a junior driver who displays dedication, skill and a level of professionalism, was presented to current New Zealand Grand Prix winner and Formula Regional Oceania runner-up Liam Sceats.

The Rally Founders Trophy was awarded to Hayden Paddon, recognising s a rally competitor who performs with distinction during the rally season, either nationally or internationally. Paddon took out his New Zealand Rally Championship title in 2023 and claimed the European Rally Championship as well.

The Jim Clark Trophy, the highest annually awarded honour for competitors, was presented to FIA World Endurance Champion Brendon Hartley. Hartley won his fourth FIA World Endurance Championship in 2023. The Jim Clark Trophy is awarded annually to a New Zealand driver who shows a sportsmanlike attitude to the sport and fellow competitors and natural ability in “putting up the most meritorious racing performance during the season”.

MotorSport New Zealand President, Wayne Christie, praised the achievements of the premier award winners.

“Tonight we celebrate the great achievements of our competitors over the past season and recognise the achievements of our people across the whole of the sport,” said Christie.

“All of our premier award winners, Brendon, Angus, Liam and Hayden have all shown New Zealand is a nation full of motorsport talent who can perform on the world stage.”

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.