04 815 8015

102A Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu, 5032

Follow us on Social media
+64 (0)4 815 8015
Mon - Fri, 08:30AM-5:00PM

Billy Frazer grabs opening NZ Formula Ford race win at Teretonga

Billy Frazer has won race eight of the 2019/20 MSNZ ITM Formula Ford Championship held at Invercargill’s Teretonga Park. Callum Crawley finished in second with Zac Stichbury third.

Crawley was able to take the early race lead off the front row beating the pole-sitter Thomas Boniface in the run to turn one. Crawley quickly asserted himself as the one to beat but Boniface still kept up his tempo until he made a small mistake on lap three which saw Frazer move into second-place.

Frazer then chased down Crawley and took the lead of the race on lap five and never looked back. Whilst he remained in the clutches of Crawley, Frazer never looked like he was going to be passed.

Boniface fell into the hot battle for third between himself, Zac Stichbury and the championship leader James Penrose. The trio was separated by mere hundredths of a second for the majority of the race and traded positions in a dynamic battle. Come the final lap of the race, Boniface looked to have the advantage, but a small mistake between turns two and three saw him shuffled down to fifth. Stichbury took the final podium spot from Penrose.

Ronan Murphy and Kaleb Ngatoa battled with Murphy taking sixth over Ngatoa in seventh. Keith Miller and Blake Evans rounded out the field.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.