04 815 8015

102A Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu, 5032

Follow us on Social media
+64 (0)4 815 8015
Mon - Fri, 08:30AM-5:00PM

Tasman Cup returns for 2024 Castrol Toyota FR Oceania Championship

The prestigious Tasman Cup will return to New Zealand this summer to be contested as part of the 2024 Castrol Toyota Formula Regional Oceania Championship (CTFROC). The Tasman Cup will be awarded to the highest-placed antipodean driver of the first two rounds of the championship.

Originally awarded to the winner of the famed Tasman Series of the 1960s and 70s, the Tasman Cup has been contested across three different eras, with CTFROC set to be the next. First for the Tasman Series from 1964-1975, then Formula Holden in 1999 and 2000 and most recently the Australian S5000 Championship from 2021-2023.

The origins of the Tasman Cup share a similar concept to CTFROC, having taken place in New Zealand’s summer when the rest of the world’s premier-level motorsport was usually on hold.

This attracted top-level talent from all over the world, resulting in Formula 1 stars of the time Bruce McLaren, Jim Clark, Jackie Stewart and Chris Amon having their names etched onto the cup as winners. Other winners include New Zealanders Graeme Lawrence, Graham McRae (3x winner), Simon Wills and Andy Booth.

The 2024 Castrol Toyota Formula Regional Oceania Championship will feature seven drivers from Australia and New Zealand. The two rounds that the Tasman Cup will be fought across take place at Taupō International Motorsport Park on 19-21 January and Manfeild – Circuit Chris Amon on 26-28 January.

“It’s great to see the continuation of such an iconic prize in New Zealand and Australian motorsport,” said MotorSport New Zealand CEO Elton Goonan.

“So many Kiwis and Australians adore this trophy and it’s great to be able to continue its legacy and breathe new life into it with the strong trans-Tasman representation in the Formula Regional Oceania Championship.”

Having been shared across the Tasman during it’s 60 year history, Motorsport Australia as joint custodians of the trophy approved MotorSport New Zealand’s request. Motorsport Australia CEO Sunil Vohra said the decision to award the trophy to the Formula Regional Oceania Championship was an obvious one.

“This Championship has always been a standout category in the region and given its significance and the driving talent on display, Motorsport Australia was pleased to work with our colleagues at Motorsport New Zealand to come to this decision,” Vohra said.

“The prestige of this trophy cannot be underestimated and looking at the trophy itself there are some of motorsport’s best etched into history, including the likes of Sir Jackie Stewart and Bruce McLaren.

“We’ll certainly be looking forward to seeing the racing unfold over the coming fortnight and wish everyone the best of luck.”

Formula Regional Oceania Championship manager Nico Caillol is also by the heightened trans-Tasman connection.

“With Oceania a key element within our Championship name, it feels natural to highlight that rivalry between New Zealand and Australia,” said Caillol.

“We have the opportunity with seven drivers from both countries competing in the first two rounds of our championship to take the challenge to the best international drivers coming from all over the world.

With the resurrection of the Formula 4 in Australia later this year it will give more opportunity to Australian drivers to make the next step in their career by coming to New Zealand and competing in the Castrol Toyota Formula Regional Oceania Championship.”

Both rounds contesting the Tasman Cup and the remainder of the Formula Regional Oceania Championship will be broadcast live on Sky Sport in New Zealand and Fox Sports in Australia. International viewers can tune in via motorsport.tv live stream.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.