04 815 8015

102A Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu, 5032

Follow us on Social media
+64 (0)4 815 8015
Mon - Fri, 08:30AM-5:00PM

Superb GT3 rivalry in South Island Endurance Series to continue at Teretonga

Having narrowly won the opening round of the 2022 Three-Hour Carter’s Tyre Service South Island Endurance Series in Christchurch, Sam Fillmore and Johnny Reid (Audi R8 LMS Evo GT3) have proved to be the team to beat at Teretonga Park, Invercargill, this weekend. Reid is no stranger to winning the Series and Fillmore has plenty of endurance experience. Yet, they will have their work cut-out this Saturday with some of the best GT3 competition the Series has ever seen.

The hard charging Andrew Fawcett/Daniel Gaunt (McLaren 720S GT3) were a close second in Round One and should have won albeit for a spin soon after the start brought about by another competitor.

As the Series has shown before, you don’t have to win to take out the title, first you have to finish and preferably on the podium. Hence the Paul and Ant Pedersen (Mercedes Benz AMG GT3) challenge should not be discounted after the recently crowned North Island Series champions finished third in Christchurch.

The Nissan GTR Nismo GT3 of Lance Hughes/Chris Ven Der Drift had a strong showing in Christchurch but their charge to the podium came undone with a steering issue with just 35 minutes remaining. Also, to strike unfortunate trouble, was the Brabham BT62 of Dwayne and Matt Carter. The seriously gorgeous and quick Brabham is very capable of finishing on the podium, adding to this season’s rivalry at the pointy end of the field.

Current Three-Hour title holders, Scott O’Donnell/Allan Dippie (Porsche 991 GT3R), could not back up last season’s consistent finishing having retired out of the Christchurch round. Now at their home circuit, don’t be surprised by their competitiveness on Saturday.

As well as overall positions, there are also five separate Class titles at stake. Fillmore and Reid lead Class 1 (GT3) while Heremana Malmezac/Jono Lester (Porsche 991.2 GT3 Cup MR) are ahead of some very quick Porsche in Class 2 (GT Type).

Marco Giltrap/Simon Evans (Porsche 718 GT4 Clubsport) had a strong Round 1 to lead Class 3 (3501cc and over, including FIA GT4 spec cars) while Grant Askew/Cole Askew (VW Golf GTi TCR) lead Class 4 (2001-3500cc). All five Class 5 (0-2000cc) cars finished the opening round with Ben Silcock/Andre Simon (Honda CRX 2.0) beating home Terence Phillips/Darryl Phillips (Honda Civic 2.0).

Testing takes place on Friday with a 15min qualifying session at 9:50am Saturday morning and the race set to go at 1:30pm.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.