04 815 8015

102A Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu, 5032

Follow us on Social media
+64 (0)4 815 8015
Mon - Fri, 08:30AM-5:00PM

Nominations confirmed for elected positions at 77th Annual General Meeting

Nominations for elected positions within MotorSport New Zealand for the 77th Annual General Meeting closed on Monday, 1 April 2024.

In total six elected positions were available at the upcoming AGM, to be held in Christchurch on 25 May 2024. On the board, the position of President of MotorSport New Zealand and one Board Member position were available, with one position on each of the Race, Rally, ClubSport and Historic Advisory Commissions also available.

Member Clubs are eligible to submit nominations for elected positions as well as vote in any elections held at the AGM.

Deborah Day, of Auckland, has been confirmed as the President-elect of MotorSport New Zealand having been the only nomination put forward by the Member Clubs. Day will take over from outgoing President, Wayne Christie, who has reached his term limit and will stand down following the 77th AGM.

“I am delighted to become the next President of MotorSport New Zealand,” Day said.

“Our sport has a long and varied history that we should all be proud of, but it’s the blank pages of the future that excite me the most. I look forward to bringing a strong leadership style to the role and working closely with our clubs, competitors, media, officials and all stakeholders to drive the sport forward.”

Two nominations were received for the one vacant Board Member position, requiring a vote to take place at the AGM. Scott O’Donnell of Invercargill, who has concluded his second term as an elected Board Member, has been nominated as well as Andrew Tierney, of Wellington.

Also requiring a vote at the AGM is the one vacant position on the Race Advisory Commission. Nominations were received for Blair Thorpe of Christchurch and Nathan Pilcher of Auckland.

The three remaining Advisory Commissions with one vacant position each, only received one nomination, therefore duly electing those nominees to each respective advisory commission at the conclusion of the 77th AGM. James Storey of Ashburton will join the ClubSport Advisory Commission, Tim Hill of Auckland will start his second term on the Historic Advisory Commission and Craig Jessop of Stirling will start his second term on the Rally Advisory Commission.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.