04 815 8015

102A Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu, 5032

Follow us on Social media
+64 (0)4 815 8015
Mon - Fri, 08:30AM-5:00PM

All the winners: 2024 Awards Evening

The 2024 MotorSport New Zealand Awards Evening was a night to remember! Held at the stunning Te Pae Christchurch Convention Centre on Saturday night, over 260 dignitaries, award winners, champions and their friends and families came together to celebrate motorsport and its people. We’re incredibly lucky to have such a wonderful community of people who make this sport what it is, and while we couldn’t recognise everyone in one night, we did acknowledge some remarkable people.

Distinguished Service Awards: Awarded to someone whose service and personal contribution of time and effort to motorsport have made a real difference.

  • Chris Protheroe, Christchurch
  • Sean Elder, Hamilton
  • Paul Fallon, Blenheim
  • Amanda Tollemache, Havelock North

Historic Heritage Awards: Introduced in 2014 to recognise those whose contribution to Historic Racing and Rallying is exemplary.

  • Russell Harris, Palmerston North
  • Greg Lancaster, Timaru
  • Garry Cliff, Christchurch
  • Brian Stokes, Rangiora

Volunteer of the Year:

  • Kim Adams, Ashburton

Membership of Honour: Recognises the longstanding and exemplary contribution to the sport from the corporate sector of the community.

  • SKOPE Industries, Christchurch

Media Awards:

  • Video Content of the Year: Volt Media, Auckland
  • SMOKE Photographer of the Year: Tayler Burke, Marton
  • President’s Award for Single Best Shot: Tayler Burke, Marton
  • Best use of Digital Media: R2G – Rally Race Group, Blenheim

SMOKE Photographer of the Year Portfolio:

Ian Snellgrove Memorial Trophy: Awarded to the overall winner of the Elite MotorSport Academy

  • Ayrton Hodson, Katikati

Lupp Trophy: Awarded to recognise a competitor from Classic and Historic racing who has demonstrated exceptional levels of sportsmanship, vehicle presentation and who embodies the very spirit and values associated with the Classic and Historic movement.

  • Angus Fogg, Auckland

Steel Memorial Trophy: Acknowledges the efforts of a Junior (under 21 driver) at National race level who displays dedication, skill and a level of professionalism in their driving and is aiming to progress to the upper echelons of the sport.

  • Liam Sceats, Auckland

Rally Founders Trophy: This trophy recognises a rally competitor who performs with distinction during the rally season, either Nationally, Internationally, or both; has a sportsman-like attitude towards the sport and others, and displays the qualities of a true sporting ambassador.

  • Hayden Paddon, Cromwell

Jim Clark Trophy: Awarded annually to the New Zealand driver competing at a National or higher level who shows a sportsmanlike attitude to the sport and fellow competitors and natural ability in “putting up the most meritorious racing performance during the season”. This is the highest annually awarded honour for competitors.

  • Brendon Hartley, Monaco

President D’Honneur: This award was established to recognise the exemplary and outstanding service of individuals within an official MotorSport New Zealand role. This is not awarded annually, only when the recipient meets the requirements of the awards set out in our constitution.

  • Wayne Christie, Christchurch

Wayne Christie receives the prestigious President D’Honneur award


The sporting champions of the preceding seasons were also officially crowned at the Awards Evening:


2024 ClubSport Champions:

  • NZ Gold Star Hillclimb Championship: Matt Penrose
  • NZ Cross Car Hillclimb Championship: Matt Penrose

2023-24 Race Champions:

  • 1 Hour Endurance (Class 4-5) Championship: Ayrton Hodson & Brett Sullivan
  • 1 Hour Endurance (Class 2-3) Championship: Adam Julian
  • 3 Hour Endurance Am-Am Championship: Steve Brooks & Bill Riding
  • 3 Hour Endurance Championship: Sam Fillmore & Johnny Reid
  • NZ Formula First Championship: Chris Symon
  • NZ Formula Ford (Class 2) Championship: Cameron Freeman
  • NZ Formula Ford Championship: Blake Knowles
  • NZ Super Truck Championship: Alex Little
  • Toyota 86 Championship: Tom Bewley
  • NZ Porsche Championship: Regan Scoullar
  • GT New Zealand GT4 Championship: Brock Gilchrist
  • GT New Zealand Open Championship: Rick Armstrong
  • Bruce McLaren Memorial Trophy: Liam Sceats
  • Formula Regional Oceania Championship: Roman Bilinski

2023 Rally Champions:

  • NZ Rally Challenge Championship: Zeal Jones & Matthew Sayers
  • Historic Challenge Championship: John Silcock & Donner Elder
  • 2WD Championship: Dylan Thomson & Bayden Thomson
  • Junior Driver Championship: Bryn Jones
  • Manufacturers Championship: Ford
  • NZ Rally Championship: Hayden Paddon & John Kennard


No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.