04 815 8015

102A Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu, 5032

Follow us on Social media
+64 (0)4 815 8015
Mon - Fri, 08:30AM-5:00PM

Sturgeon, Armstrong, Hunt and Dixon win MotorSport New Zealand premier awards

The MotorSport New Zealand’s premier awards have seen a high calibre of individuals recognised for 2021. Winners were announced at the annual MotorSport New Zealand Awards Evening held in Christchurch.

Peter Sturgeon was awarded the Lupp Trophy for his efforts in raising the profile of historic touring car racing. The Lupp Trophy is awarded to recognise a competitor from Classic and Historic racing who has demonstrated exceptional levels of sportsmanship, vehicle presentation and who embodies the very spirit and values associated with the Classic and Historic movement.

The Steel Memorial Trophy, awarded to a Junior driver who displays dedication, skill and a level of professionalism, was presented to Marcus Armstrong for his runner-up result in the 2019 FIA Formula 3 Championship.

Ben Hunt was award the Rally Founders Trophy which recognises a rally driver who performs with distinction during the rally season, either nationally, internationally.

The Jim Clark Trophy, awarded to IndyCar champion Scott Dixon, is awarded annually to a New Zealand driver who shows a sportsmanlike attitude to the sport and fellow competitors .and natural ability in “putting up the most meritorious racing performance during the season”. This is the highest annually awarded honour for competitors.

MotorSport New Zealand President, Wayne Christie, praised the achievements of the premier award winners.

“Tonight is a special night to reflect on all aspects of the sport and celebrate the achievements of our people,” said Christie.

“Our premier award winners have all shown New Zealand truly punches above our weight on the world stage.”

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.