04 815 8015

102A Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu, 5032

Follow us on Social media
+64 (0)4 815 8015
Mon - Fri, 08:30AM-5:00PM

Rick Armstrong wins GT New Zealand Open Championship; Brock Gilchrist wins GT4

Rick Armstrong has clinched the Summerset GT New Zealand Championship Open class title, with Brock Gilchrist winning the GT4 class.

In a hard fought battle throughout the five round, 15 race season, and the lead changing multiple times, Armstrong claimed the top spot on the points table from Sam Filmore in second, with Luke Manson third.

Filmore also picked up the Porsche Endurance Trophy.

“It was close all of the way. Amongst our International Motorsport team members, there was some incredibly close racing,” said Armstrong.

“I had some up and down results across the five rounds, but I feel like I was a points gatherer, and the win was due to others demise as well.”

“It’s about being consistent, my approach going into the season was to drive consistently, keep my nose out of trouble, if it was looking like trouble I’d deliberately not go there.”

“Really enjoyed the season, it was a lot of fun.”

Brock Gilchrist won the GT4 Class in his Giltrap Motorsport McLaren 570S, picking up a number of race wins and consistent podium finishes, all attributing to his championship win.

“Obviously I’m over the moon to be crowned GT4 Champion. It’s been a really enjoyable Championship, and I’m stoked to win,” said Gilchrist.

“It was tough this round, to fight back with the long Compulsory Pitstop Time, but a huge thanks to the team, and the sponsors. It’s such an awesome scholarship that they have put together, it’s truly amazing.”

The final GT4 Championship standings saw the Mercedes AMG of James Sax finish second, with the BMW of Garth Piesse in third.

With three races held over the weekend at Hampton Downs, Clay Osborne won the 1-hour race on Saturday in Open Class, with Regan Scoullar and Paul Southam picking up wins in the two 30-minute races.

In GT4, James Sax won thee 1-hour race, and the 30-minute race on Sunday afternoon, while Garth Piesse won the 30-minute race on Sunday morning.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.