04 815 8015

102A Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu, 5032

Follow us on Social media
+64 (0)4 815 8015
Mon - Fri, 08:30AM-5:00PM

Emily Robb chosen as BMW Race Driver Series Scholarship recipient

Emily Robb has been chosen as the BMW Race Driver Series Scholarship recipient for the upcoming 2023-24 season. Held as part of their annual Pre-Season Shakedown on Saturday at Hampton Downs Motorsport Park, it gave the drivers a chance to blow out the cobwebs as well as give a group of career hopefuls a chance to via for the use of the scholarship car for the coming season.

Fourteen scholarship applicants took to the circuit at Hampton Downs Motorsport Park as part of the annual Scholarship Day, with ten of these heading through to the top ten shootout that afternoon. Following further driving evaluation and panel interviews with our team, the scores had come through, and they were impressive! While driving played a huge factor in the selection process, they also sought individuals who embodied the qualities of strong ambassadors, sought active participation in the BMW Race Driver Series, and aligned seamlessly with their culture.

The Scholarship class of 2023 included Darren Mudford, Joshua Verkley, Edward Fea, Emily Robb, Michael Connell, India Holder, Josh Lane, Tobias Krueckel, Troy Pennington, Mac Berkett, Henry O’Leary, Jordyn Wallace, Ashton McCaughan, and Vin Schelpo.

Part of the annual Scholarship and Pre-Season Shakedown Day involved core collaboration and again this year, they provided their friends at The Motorsport Club the opportunity to use the day as a low-pressure training opportunity for the upcoming season. This involved firefighting training, extrication training, and much more.

During the morning, the class of 2023 went through tuition with Racing Ray Williams and underwent driving evaluation by Mike Eady. The top ten applicants then proceeded to the afternoon’s sessions, which involved further driving evaluation and a panel interview with four of their long-standing members. Three of whom were founding members of the race series, which had started in 2006.

Congratulations were given to the following scholarship finalists who had made it through to the afternoon: Darren Mudford, Joshua Verkley, Edward Fea, Emily Robb, Michael Connell, India Holder, Tobias Kruekel, Mac Berkett, Henry O’Leary, and Jordyn Wallace.

After a tight fight for the scholarship, Robb was announced as the winner of the E46 Scholarship for the 2023-2024 season. Robb comes from a strong heritage of motorsport, having competed in karts for ten years and dabbling in both the Super Mini Challenge class and Ssangyong Utes. Second place went to Jordyn Wallace, and third place went to Michael Connell.

The scholarship and shakedown day was made possible thanks to the efforts of John Mulrennan and his team for organising the day, as well as the volunteers who had given up their time to help the day succeed.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.