04 815 8015

102A Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu, 5032

Follow us on Social media
+64 (0)4 815 8015
Mon - Fri, 08:30AM-5:00PM

Close racing on Day One at Teretonga Park

The racing was close but it was a relatively incident free day as the first of two days of motor racing presented by Downer played out at Teretonga Park in Invercargill today.

Ten different categories are competing in the event and today saw one race for each of them after qualifying earlier in the day.

The South Island Formula 1600 race saw series leader Blake Knowles of Prebbleton lead all the way in his Van Diemen RF05 but there was plenty of great racing behind him. The current National Champion, local driver Alex Crosbie, started from fourth on the grid and dropped to fifth early on but worked his way back up the order in his Ray GR21 and crossed the line close behind Knowles with Daniel Brown of Christchurch in another Ray snaring third.

Dunedin driver Steve Ross in his Jaguar Tranzam XK won the first OSCA Super Saloon race of the weekend with Cameron Jones of Palmerston North in second place in his Mazda RX7. Kyle Dawson of Invercargill (Nissan Skyline) was third, after running second early on before losing pace and dropping away from the leaders.

A trio of Ford Mustangs led the way in the Pre 78 Classic Saloon race with Leon Hallett of Mosgiel taking the win from Te Anau driver Rodger Cunninghame who kept him honest all the way, with Roy MacDonald of Dunedin third.

Liam MacDonald in his Falcon drew first blood in the Noel McIntyre Drainage Club Saloons race leading home Jordan Michels in his Ford Focus V8 with another Invercargill driver Harry Wilson in his NZV8 Falcon third.

Jared Hanson of Timaru was the first to greet the chequered flag in his Datsun 1600 in the SS Cup with Gerard Hargreaves of Temuka (Toyota Altezza) second and Will Kitching of Timaru third in his Mazda RX8 after James Liemburg in a 5.7 litre Mazda MX5 was penalised for a false start. In the NZ Six Saloons Cody Welch of Omakau in his Falcon took the flag from the similar car of David Worgan (Methven) and Mike McCarthy of Dunedin in a Commodore.
Jared Pyke of Rangiora won the PRO 7&8 South Island race from Will Kitching with Sam Wallace of Christchurch third.

Harry McDonald of Otautau, home after racing in Europe during the year, took his Toyota Levin AE111 to a win ahead of Hamish Evans of Darfield in a very similar car in the 2K Teretonga Challenge race, the duo running closely throughout the race. Corey Ashworth of Ashburton was third in his Toyota Celica.
Paul Clarke of Mosgiel in his Mustang beat home Corey Ross of Rolleston in the Pre 65 Saloon race with Invercargill driver John Smolenski third in his XP Falcon while Justin Neill of Christchurch headed off Daniel Lamb of Kaiapoi and another Christchurch driver Andrew Johnson in the Mini 7 South race.

Tomorrow’s action, with 23 races scheduled, is due to commence at 9.00am. A day pass at the gate for Sunday’s programme is just $25 with children 14 & under accompanied by an adult free.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.