04 815 8015

102A Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu, 5032

Follow us on Social media
+64 (0)4 815 8015
Mon - Fri, 08:30AM-5:00PM

Classic action begins at Teretonga Park

The Ascot Park Hotel Classic SpeedFest began at Teretonga Park in Invercargill today with the crowd enjoying classic racing between a variety of cars across six different classes.

The Pre 78 Classic Saloon/HVRA race provided a great spectacle. Keith Davidson from Colorado in the USA led early in his Falcon but ran wide at the end of the opening lap allowing fastest qualifier Gary Johnstone of Rolleston in his Jaguar XJS to take the lead chased by the Ford Mustang’s of Rodger Cunninghame of Te Anau and Kyle Hallett of Mosgiel. Cunninghame, racing for the final time this weekend after 50 years of competition, got through on the penultimate lap and led home from Johnstone, Hallett and Davidson.

A large contingent of drivers from the UK lined up in the Formula Junior race and it was Robin Longdon of Knutsford in the UK in a Lola who prevailed after a good battle with Noel Woodford of Auckland in a Gemini MK3A. Grant Clearwater of Kerikeri was third in his Cooper T59.

Steve Ross of Dunedin qualified the iconic PDL 1 Mustang on pole for the first Classic Saloon race. He was slow off the startline but quickly into second place until he slowed at the beginning of the third lap and cruised back to the pits. Early leader Mike Baker of Picton in his Porsche 964 won from Christchurch drivers Marcus Stewart (Porsche 964) and Guy Stewart (Porsche 911).

Ross returned for the second race of the day and won easily from Baker and Tony Forde of Invercargill in a Commodore.

Barry Leitch of Invercargill in a Ralt RT4 had a comfortable lead in the Formula Libre race until a red flag stoppage mid race. While awaiting the restart he climbed from the cockpit and the car was pushed away leaving Royce Bayer of Rangiora in an Argo SMR001 to win from Gerald Duncan of Wellington in the SID Mk2 and Jacob Begg of Winton in a Van Diemen RF92.

Paul Coghill of Dunedin won both Vintage Racing Car races today in his Jaguar Special from Tracey Barrett of Christchurch Lotus 23C Replica. David Owen of Christchurch in his Jaguar C Type took third in the first race while Russell Greer of Blenheim in the Stanton Corvette was third in the second contest.

Jordan Michels of Invercargill in his Marc Mustang won the Noel McIntyre Drainage Club Saloons Group A race from fellow Invercargill driver Kieran Roberts (Commodore) and Pierre Neame of Winton in a Mustang after Liam MacDonald slid off the circuit on oil and dropped down the order.

In Group B Guy Stewart of Christchurch Porsche 911 led all the way in the first race from Boyd Wilson of Riverton (Commodore) with Kevin Underwood of Wallacetown (Falcon) finishing third. In the second contest Stewart won again from Underwood and Jeremy Skeggs of Invercargill in a Mazda RX7.

Sunday’s programme will commence at 9.30am with a full day of seventeen races including the Brian Crosbie Memorial Trophy Race late in the day.

A day pass at the gate is just $30 while children 14 & under accompanied by an adult are free.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.