

2019 MotorSport New Zealand Annual Awards

Presented 25 May 2019

Wall of Fame

Dick Bennetts (Sunbury-on-Thames, England; originally Dunedin)

Premier Awards

The Jim Clark Trophy – Scott Dixon (Indianapolis, originally Auckland)

The Rally Founders Trophy – Ben Hunt (Nelson)

The Steel Memorial Trophy – Liam Lawson (Pukekohe)

The Lupp Trophy – John McKechnie (Auckland)

2019 ClubSport Awards

NZ ClubSport Gold Star Champion - Brent Redington (Hawke's Bay Car Club, Napier)

The Women in Motorsport Ladies Champion – Jilly Fisher (Harbour Capital Car Club, Wellington)

NZ Hillclimb Gold Star Champion – Andrew Elder (Hawke's Bay Car Club, Napier)

2018 Rally Championships

NZ Rally Challenge Trophy (Driver) – Grant Blackberry (Hastings)

NZ Rally Challenge (Co-driver) – Ric Chalmers (Hastings)

NZ Historic Challenge (Driver) – John Silcock (Rangiora)

NZ Historic Challenge (Co-driver) – Samantha Gray (Timaru)

2WD Rally Champion (Driver) – Dylan Thomson (Christchurch)

2WD Rally Champion (Co-driver) – Amy Hudson (Christchurch)

NZ Junior Rally Champion - Dylan Thomson (Christchurch)

NZ Rally Gold Star Champion (Driver) - Hayden Paddon (Cromwell)

NZ Rally Gold Star Championship (Co-driver) – Tony Rawstorn (Nelson)

2019 Race Awards

NZ 3 Hour Endurance Racing Champions - Neil Foster (Rotorua) and Jonny Reid (Auckland)

NZ 1 Hour Endurance Racing Champion - Matt Carter (Auckland)

NZ Super Truck Champion – Troy Wheeler (Auckland)

NZ Formula First Champion – Reece Hendl-Cox (Edgecumbe)

NZ Porsche Champion – Michael Neville (Auckland)

NZ Formula 1600 Champion – Jordan Michels (Invercargill)

Toyota 86 Champion – Callum Hedge (Auckland)

NZ V8 Ute Champion – Matthew Spratt (Te Puke)

NZ Touring Cars Champion (Class 2) – Justin Ashwell (Rolleston)

NZ Touring Cars Champion (Class 1) – Jack Smith (Gold Coast, Australia)

Toyota Racing Series Gold Star Champion - Liam Lawson (Milton Keynes, UK, originally Pukekohe)

Bruce McLaren Memorial Trophy (for top New Zealander) - Liam Lawson (Milton Keynes, UK, originally Pukekohe)

Honour Awards

The Ron Frost Award – Willard Martin (Auckland)

The Ian Snellgrove Trophy for the NZ Elite Motorsport Academy winner – Peter Vodanovich (Auckland)

Award of Merit – Janet Phipps (Hamilton)

Clerk of the Course D'Honneur – Graeme Robertson (Hastings)

Citation Award – Bob McMurray (Auckland)

Citation Award - Dale Perry (Hamilton)

Volunteer of the Year – Wayne Hughes (Auckland)

Distinguished Service Award – Blair Bartels (Auckland)

Distinguished Service Award – Blair Read (Auckland)

Distinguished Service Award - Simon Bell (Auckland)

Distinguished Service Award – Ray Reece (Auckland)

Distinguished Service Award – Dave Lee (Christchurch)

Media Awards

News Journalist of the Year – Shaun Summerfield (66 Magazine/Giltrap Group, Auckland)

Feature Journalist of the Year – Dave Hedge (Volt TV Productions, Auckland) President's Award for Best Single Photograph – Tayler Burke (Marton) Photographer of the Year Award (Portfolio) – Terry Marshall (Christchurch)

Historic Heritage Awards

In recognition of services to historic and classic rallying and racing in New Zealand Tony Sircombe (England)
Jeff Judd (Christchurch)
Murray O'Donnell (Auckland)
Peter Sundberg (Auckland)
Barry Keen (Invercargill)
Dave Simpson (Auckland)