Darren Galbraith, Rally Canterbury 2017


The opening round of the 2018 Mainland Rally Series gets underway this weekend with the Westland Rally taking place on Saturday. The entry list is a ‘who’s who’ of the South Island rallying fraternity that will compete over nine special stages totalling 115km, and 385km of touring stages based in the Grey and Westland Districts. The Westland Rally boasts having the richest prize pool for such an event within NZ.
Three-time winner of the Westland Rally Darren Galbraith (Evo 8) with co-driver Rocky Hudson will lead out a full field of over 65 cars that includes the likes of Matt Summerfield (Subaru WRX), Josh Marston (Holden Barina R5), Jeff Judd (Subaru WRX), Job Quantok (Skoda Fabia AP$), Marcus van Klink (Maxda RX8), Greg Murphy (Holden Barina R5), Dean Buist (VW Golf Mk2) and Richard Bateman (Evo9).
The rally is regarded as an important ‘shake-down’ for many crews that will compete in this year’s NZ Rally Championship. This gets underway in four weeks’ time with the Rally Otago before heading north to the International Rally of Whangarei (4-5 May).
The first car gets underway at 8:30am at Ahaura Kopra Road and finishes outside the Paroa Hotel just south of Greymouth at 4:45pm